Mumbai, October 28: India’s Pranjala Yadlapalli was in dominating form as she defeated Georgia’s Oksana Kalashnikova 6-4, 6-3 in the 2nd round of the qualifiers to enter the main draw of the L&T Mumbai Open WTA $125K Series, organized by MSLTA and CCI and played at the CCI courts, here, on Sunday.

However, Mahak Jain failed to make the cut after losing to Hiroko Kuwata of Japan 3-6, 4-6.

Also making the main draw was Tereza Martincova (CZE), who overcame a sluggish start to beat Georgia’s Sofia Shapatava 4-6, 6-3, 6-0

It was not the ideal start for the 19-year-old Pranjala, who got broken in the opening game, but she hit back with a break of her own to level scores and settle down. Games went with serve till 4-3, before Pranjala broke her rival for a 5-3 lead and then served out the set.

Pranjala kept up the intensity in the 2nd set, breaking Oksana twice for a 4-0 lead. Oksana stirred things up a bit when she broke Pranjala at 1-4 down, but the resistance was short lived as Pranjala broke back for a 5-2 lead. Holding serve was proving to be difficult for both players as Pranjala got broken again for 5-3 before she broke back to wrap up the match.

“Oksana was really solid and hitting the ball hard and making me work for points. I was trying to counter by hitting it deep and making her move around the court,” said Pranjala after her victory, which will see her making her maiden WTA main draw.

Pranjala is currently high on confidence as she had two back to back title wins in ITF 25K tournaments in Lagos, where she beat Conny Perrin of Switzerland, who is ranked 126 in the world.

Main draw from Tuesday
“Keeping in mind the large gathering which will be coming for India vs West Indies cricket match and to avoid any untoward incident, the organizers and WTA officials have jointly decided to start the main draw matches on Tuesday,” said a statement from joint Tournament Directors Prashant Sutar and Sunder Iyer.

Results: Pranjala Yadlapalli (IND) bt Oksana Kalashnikova (GEO) 6-4, 6-3; Tereza Martincova (CZE) bt Sofia Shapatava (GEO) 4-6, 6-3, 6-0; Hiroko Kuwata (JPN) bt Mahak Jain (IND) 6-3, 6-4; Urszula Radwanska (POL) bt Natalija Kostic 6-4, 4-6, 6-1.